Sports Assembly
 /  Sport / Sports Assembly

Sports Assembly

On Tuesday 19th of November St Johns College held its annual Sports Presentation assembly. The Assembly acknowledged the achievements of all students who represented the College this year. This presentation also celebrated the 50th anniversary of sport within the college, Mr Andy Haycock put together a short powerpoint presentation to celebrate those individuals who have been successful in developing sport within the College and those past and present students who are excelling in their chosen sports. Thank you Mr Haycock for taking the time to create this special presentation. 

The College was honoured to have Ms Abbey McCulloch as special guest for the Assembly. Abbey has been playing netball, with 10 of those years as a professional netball player within the Suncorp Super Netball. Her sporting highlights include being NSW Swifts Captain from 2017 – 2019 and Australian Diamonds Squad Invitee.

There were three major awards this year including the Gerard Yeo Memorial Trophy which Jack Allen from Year 12 was the recipient. Jack has attended and demonstrated prowess whilst participating in all College sporting events such as the Swimming and Athletics Carnivals and playing Rugby League. It is in  Swimming that Jack has excelled. He has represented St Johns at NSW Combined Catholic Colleges and NSW All Schools Swimming Carnivals and was selected to represent NSW in the Pacific School Games in South Australia in 2017. Jack has been St Johns swimmer of the Year for 5 consecutive years and also received St. Johns College Sportsman of the Year for 2018. He played a key role as a House Captain for Lennon in 2019.

The Kendall Swann Athletic Excellence Award for Outstanding performance and dedication to Athletics was the second major award. This was awarded to five individuals who have all displayed excellence in athletics and commitment to their chosen events.The recipients were: 

Millie Gooch

  • 5th 200m Hurdles & 7th High Jump & Age Champion at CCC Championships

Brooke Galley, 

  • 3rd 19years 400m & 2nd 19years 800m. 3rd at CCC Championships

Ella Penman, 

  • 3rd 13 years 800m & 4th 13 years 1500m

Lachlan Townsend 

  • 3rd 1500m & 2nd 3000m and 1st 2000m steeplechase

Nosa Obaski

  • = 2nd discuss & 4th Hammer Throw & 12th Javelin Age Champion at CCC Champions 

The final major award was awarded for Outstanding Achievement by an Individual in Sport. This was awarded to three equally deserving recipients in Kurt Eather, Dylan Eather & Haylee Fuller for their amazing achievements in cycling. 

Nosa Obeseki, Isabella Attwater, Sam Parish, Mia Piece, Jake Settree were acknowledged for their efforts as Players of the Year in Rugby League, Netball, Rugby Union and Soccer respectively. A full list of award recipients can be found in this week’s school newsletter. Thankyou to Miss Easman for her help in organisation.

Related Posts

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked.*

St Johns College

162 Sheraton Road, Dubbo East NSW 2830
PO Box 4019, Dubbo East NSW 2830
Phone: 02 6841 5100